Skip to content

Apollo AwardThe Apollo Award Committee is delighted to announce that we will again be working with area healthcare systems and hospitals, the Community Foundation for the Alleghenies, the Cambria County Medical Society, the 1889 Foundation, and Lee Initiatives on the 2017 Apollo Award program. The Apollo Award program celebrates the commitment of the medical community to our larger community and provides a select number of scholarships to third- and fourth-year medical students who express a commitment to return to Cambria or Somerset counties to practice medicine after they complete their training.

The deadline to submit the Apollo Ceremony Nomination Form is April 30, 2017.

The Apollo Award is presented each year to members of the Cambria/Somerset medical community or members of their families who have made significant contributions to improving the quality of life in our region. This award is designed to encourage and acknowledge participation by the medical community in the overall quality of life issues in our region. In addition, healthcare-related initiatives that go beyond the healthcare professional’s normal scope of work also shall be considered. The Apollo Award may be presented for contributions in the fields of the arts, education, economic development, children and youth outreach, heritage, civic affairs, religion, or environmental programs. Contributions may be defined as leadership and ongoing involvement in civic, business, or nonprofit initiatives. While lifetime achievement qualifies as a significant contribution, the Apollo Award should not be viewed exclusively as such.

We invite everyone in our region to consider nominating a physician or a member of her/his family for this prestigious honor. You can submit your nomination online, or you may print out & mail this form to Katrina Perkosky at the Community Foundation for the Alleghenies’ Johnstown office.

The person or persons selected for this honor will be recognized at the annual Apollo Awards Dinner on Wednesday, November 8th.

Past winners of the Apollo Award:
2001 Karen Azer
2002 Dr. Earl Shope (posthumous)
2003 Dr. George W. Katter, Dr. Ferdinand Soisson
2004 Cecelia Marie Ringler
2005 Dr. William Sahlaney
2006 Dr. Jan R. De Vries
2007 Dr. James Furnary
2008 Dr. Deborah Baceski
2009 Dr. Rodolfo Furigay
2010 Dr. Bruce E. Duke III
2011 Dr. William F. Pruchnic
2012 Dr. Frank T. Carney (posthumous)
2013 Dr. Magdi Azer, Dr. Loretta Opila, Dr. Jagdish Patel
2014 Mary P. Borkow, Dr. William Hauger (posthumous), Dr. Roger Morrell (posthumous), Dr. James Richey
2015 Dr. David C. Borecky (posthumous), Dr. Shiban Warikoo 2016 Dr. Joel E. Borkow, Dr. Jerry L. Gray, Dr. J. Michael Moses

Apollo Award Committee:
Magdi Azer, MD
Kim Oleksa, Chan Soon-Shiong Medical Center at Windber
Joel Bezek, MD
Mark Pasquerilla
William Carney, MD
Katrina Perkosky, Community Foundation for the Alleghenies
R.L. Furigay, MD
Sharon Petrocvic, Cambria County Medical Society
Paula Hencel, Community Foundation for the Alleghenies
Donald Ratchford, MD
Mike Kane, Community Foundation for the Alleghenies
John Reed, Lee Initiatives
Susan Mann, 1889 Foundation
Richard Wozniak, MD
Camillie Maravalli, MD

For more information, please contact Katrina Perkosky at the Community Foundation for the Alleghenies: (814) 208-8411,

Back To Top