Skip to content

Nominations are open for the 2019 Apollo Awards. This award is given annually to members of (or family members of) the medical community who have made significant contributions to improving the quality of life in our region. It is designed to encourage and acknowledge participation by the medical community in initiatives that go beyond the health care professional’s normal scope of work.

The Community Foundation for the Alleghenies is pleased to work again this year with the Cambria and Somerset medical communities to recognize members of the health profession who are having an extraordinary impact on their communities.

The Apollo Award may be presented for contributions in the fields of the arts, education, economic development, children and youth outreach, heritage, civic affairs, religion, or environmental programs. Contributions may be defined as leadership and ongoing involvement in civic, business, or nonprofit initiatives. While lifetime achievement qualifies as a significant contribution, the Apollo Award should not be viewed exclusively as such.

We hope you’ll help us celebrate individuals who aren’t just improving the physical health of local residents, but uplifting our humanity by improving our collective way of life.

“The Apollo Award exalts cooperation among our healthcare community, civic leaders, and community-minded groups and individuals who are passionate about empowering positive change in Cambria and Somerset counties,” says Community Foundation President Mike Kane. “We are honored to administer this prestigious award, which has become a much-anticipated annual event.”

Here’s a list of past awardees:
2001 Karen Azer
2002 Dr. Earl Shope (posthumous)
2003 Dr. George W. Katter, Dr. Ferdinand Soisson
2004 Cecelia Marie Ringler
2005 Dr. William Sahlaney
2006 Dr. Jan R. De Vries
2007 Dr. James Furnary
2008 Dr. Deborah Baceski
2009 Dr. Rodolfo Furigay
2010 Dr. Bruce E. Duke III
2011 Dr. William F. Pruchnic
2012 Dr. Frank T. Carney (posthumous)
2013 Dr. Magdi Azer, Dr. Loretta Opila, Dr. Jagdish Patel
2014 Mary P. Borkow, Dr. William Hauger (posthumous), Dr. Roger Morrell (posthumous), Dr. James Richey
2015 Dr. David C. Borecky (posthumous), Dr. Shiban Warikoo
2016 Dr. Joel E. Borkow, Dr. Jerry L. Gray, Dr. J. Michael Moses
2017 Dr. George S. Ashman, Dr. Richard W. Pidutti
2018 Dr. Camille & Mrs. Dorothy Maravalli, Dr. Richard & Dr. Diane Schroeder, Dr. William & Dr. Kathy Thompson

Apollo Award winners will be honored at a dinner November 6th. The event also introduces the most recent Apollo Scholarship recipients. This scholarship, initiated in 2008, is awarded each year through the Foundation’s Apollo Award Fund. It is given to students who are in their third or fourth year of medical school and who plan to practice medicine in this the area upon graduation. Since inception, the Apollo Award fund has distributed over $321,500 in scholarships.

The Apollo Award program is a partnership initiative of Community Foundation for the Alleghenies, 1889 Foundation, Lee Initiatives Health and Wellness Endowment, Chan Soon-Shiong Medical Center at Windber, Conemaugh Health System, and the Cambria County Medical Society.

Click here to submit nominations online, which are due by May 31st. You can also contact CFA Donor Services Officer Katrina Perkosky: (814) 208-8411 /

Back To Top